Educational Programs at the Department

MIEI - Integrated Master in Computer Science and Informatics

The Integrated Master in Computer Science and Informatics (MIEI), a 3+2 year integrated program (shaped after the Bologna model and the FCT UNL Curricular profile).  The MIEI targets the education of conception level engineers able to act in the fields of IT,  Computer Science,  and related areas. The MIEI at NOVA is  an excellent route to a high-performing career in the informatics industry.

The 1st cycle provides a formal degree of "Licenciatura em Ciência e Engenharia Informática" a first certification at the BSc level, and it is followed by the 2nd cycle towards the "Mestrado Integrado em Engenharia Informática", completing the MSc level education in Infornatics Engineering at the E3 professional accreditation level of Ordem dos Engenheiros.

PhD Program in Computer Science

The PhD Program in Computer Science is a research degree programme that will challenge and help you to develop your potential to pursue scientific research, innovation, and leadership activities in fields of Computer Science and Informatics. The PhD Program is articulated with the research activities of NOVA LINCS, the research unit of the Department.



Dual Degree PhD in Computer Science (with CMU)

The Department of Computer Science (CSD) of the School of Computer Science at Carnegie Mellon University offers a dual degree PhD program in Computer Science in cooperation with several Portuguese universities. Students will be co-supervised by faculty at UNL and CMU, and  the program includes a 3y research fellowship at CMU.

PhD Program in Digital Media (with UT at Austin)

TThe  Digital Media degree program was designed with a multidisciplinary structure supporting four specializations. Students are co-supervised by faculty in Portugal and Austin, and the program includes a research fellowship in Texas. 

European Master in Computational Logic (with U Dresden, TU Wien, U. Bolzano)

Tthe European Master's Program in Computational Logic (EMCL) is a unique distributed two-year master's program offered by leading European universities in the field of Computational Logic.